Главная » Библиотека » Human Rights » Human Rights Council to Hold its Forty-Seventh Regular Session from 21 June to 13 July 2021

Human Rights Council to Hold its Forty-Seventh Regular Session from 21 June to 13 July 2021

The United Nations Human Rights Council will hold its forty-seventh regular session from 21 June to 13 July 2021 at the Palais des Nations in Geneva. The hybrid Council will be meeting in room XVIII with most statements delivered virtually.

The session will open at 10 a.m. on Monday, 21 June under the presidency of Ambassador Nazhat Shameem Khan of Fiji. On this occasion, the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights, Michelle Bachelet, will present her annual report on the activities of her Office followed by a report on the central role of the State in responding to pandemics and other health emergencies, and the socioeconomic consequences thereof in advancing sustainable development and the realisation of all human rights, followed by an interactive discussion.

During the session, the Council will review reports on a wide range of human rights issues and will engage in over 30 interactive dialogues with human rights experts, groups and mechanisms concerning, among other issues, around 40 countries. It will hear the presentation of about 70 thematic and country reports on a wide range of issues, including the COVID-19 pandemic.

The Council will also hold its annual high-level panel discussion on the multisectoral prevention of and response to female genital mutilation; a panel discussion on the tenth anniversary of the Guiding Principles on Business and Human Rights; a panel discussion on the adverse impact of climate change on the full and effective enjoyment of human rights by older persons; its annual full-day discussion on the human rights of women; the quadrennial panel discussion on promoting human rights through sport and the Olympic ideal; and its annual thematic panel discussion on technical cooperation and capacity-building focusing on the right to education. The final outcomes of the Universal Periodic Review of 14 States will also be considered and adopted, namely those of Micronesia, Lebanon, Mauritania, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Australia, Saint Lucia, Nepal, Oman, Austria, Myanmar, Rwanda, Georgia, Sao Tome and Principe, and Nauru.



Добавить комментарий

Ваш e-mail не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *

Этот сайт использует Akismet для борьбы со спамом. Узнайте, как обрабатываются ваши данные комментариев.